Skip to content

Work & Leisure

April 17, 2012

I never quite got the whole work & leisure separation.

The Saturday morning launch, overlooking Prosp...

The Saturday morning launch, overlooking Prospect Lake, in downtown Colorado Springs. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve always been working on things that I love – from running Cyberpipe program to working at TV station and now at Zemanta (and lots of things in-between). For me it does not feel natural not to bring work home and home into work. I would argue that’s how it’s been historically and that strict separation of work and leisure/family time is the invention of industrial age and thus not necessary something entirely natural.

Now don’t get me wrong, this doesn’t mean I work 24×7. I need to get “quiet time” when I just read a book lying on the beach or  mountain hike with a girlfriend without thinking one tiny bit about work. However it’s also entirely ok to get a fantastic idea at the mountain top, pull out your mobile and send it in an email to a co-founder. Or simply finish debugging a project on Saturday morning when no-one bothers you and you can achieve maximum focus.

On the other hand I don’t have problems breaking work time with personal matters. I would love to be able to eat lunch at home a few days a week. I was used to family lunches when I was growing up – luckily parents worked close enough to home, so they could get home many days a week to have a family lunch at 2 or 3pm.

Now I am not sure my work & leisure mix will stay the same during all my life, but right now it’s looking pretty interesting.

How Work Email Has Ruined Leisure Time [INFOGRAPHIC]

When you clock out of work, do you leave your email behind as well? If so, you’re definitely in the minority. A recent survey of 543 business execs by ad agency Gyro and Forbes Insights found 98% of such workers check email during their “off” time.

We need this to understand how you use our service - you can take it out if you like. Cheers, your Blogspire team.

via: mashable.com

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

